Mohale Mashigo

Carol Mashigo

Mohale Mashigo is a best-selling multi-award-winning writer. Her debut novel, The Yearning, won the University of Johannesburg Prize for debut fiction. Mashigo has also written a YA adaptation of the film Beyond the River, and she is a writer for the Kwezi comic book series. Her first collection of short stories, Intruders, was published in 2018. In the same year, she also published Where is Lulu?, an illustrated children’s book (available in English, isiXhosa and Afrikaans). In 2020, she won the inaugural Philida Literary Award for her oeuvre of work. She also writes frequently for several magazines and newspapers.

Twitter: @BlckPorcelain

Instagram: blckporcelain

Image by Sydelle Willow Smith